SOME PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT SONG LYRICS WICH GLORIFY VIOLENCE AND CRIMINAL LIFESTYLES SHOULD BE BANNED. DISCUSS THE ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES OF SUCH A BAN.

Nowadays, there are more and more song lyrics that talk about stories of criminal lifestyles and their advantages in term of money, authority and respect. Initially, started from rock music, it has evolved now into trap or rap music. Because of this, some people argue that these songs which glorify violence and a negative lifestyle should be banned. In this essay, I will try to explore any possible advantages and disadvantages of this topic and finally, I would state my own opinion regarding the matter. On the hand, usually people only recognize anger, criminality, vulgarity and rudeness in that type of music texts. They are sure that piece that incites violence must be banned. In fact, some advocates of this statement acknowledge many disadvantages that “Gangster music ” could transmit to our society. Initially, it is often referenced to bad themes, such as drug, abuse, racism and murders. In this way, they could teach people to listen these lyrics, to start trying these bad experiences. Secondly, they are worried above all about the range of people that will continue liking this kind of sound. In fact, according to a European survey, this range is between 11 to 24 years. For these reasons, they would like immediate intervention from governments authorities. On the other hand, there are people that realize a lot of advantages in this type of lyrics. In contrast to their counterparts, they explain that this kind of music could only improve the vision of the true reality of our world and how to understand the negatives behaviour of human beings. In addition, the most outstanding feature is that usually, the songwriter would educate his listeners to avoid violence and this life too. To conclude, it is true that these themes are negatives. However, I think that is important to read these lyrics also in order to understand that they are things that exist in our communities and is important to ratiocinate about that.