The costs of medical health care are increasing all the time. Governments are finding it difficult to balance the health care budget. Should citizens be totally responsible for their own health costs and take out private health insurance, or is it better to have a comprehensive health care system which provides free health services for all? Discuss.

Medical health care costs continue to rise, and governments are struggling to satisfy the needs of the public. The issue of private versus public health care systems is much discussed, and this essay will consider both possibilities. On the one hand, in a private health care system people can usually get a doctor’s exam and treatment more quickly and the treatment is often better. Although this might seem to be a better system, private health systems depend on insurance or cash payments. Some people can afford to pay for private health care while for others this is impossible. As a consequence, this kind of health care accentuates the differences between social classes. For example, a majority of deaths caused by the Covid pandemic in the USA have occurred among Afro-Americans due to underlying physical conditions and a generally lower standards of living. The problem is not only limited to specific ethnic groups but applies to poor people in general. On the other hand, in a public health care system people are treated more equally and not according to how much money they have. Response times may be longer due to the fact that everyone has access to the system, however, everyone is treated fairly. This kind of system helps to reduce social economic differences. Most government subsidized health care systems require that some people work and pay for others who do not work. This might seem like an inequality but in the long run everyone receives proper health care, which is a basic human right. In conclusion, whereas private health care could seem more quick and convenient, a public health system is the better option both to reduce the disparities between social classes and ensure health care for the entire society.