Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara or Antarctica. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Nowadays the number of tourists that travel to particular places like the Sahara or Antarctica is growing. There are some advantages to these expeditions, but visiting such remote places also have some drawbacks. To begin with, visiting extreme places could be a fascinating experience. These incredible environments evoke strong emotions and memorable images due to their uniqueness. Seeing certain species of animals such as polar bears and penguins or spending a night in the Sahara desert, for example, can be very exciting. Some people feel a great deal of satisfaction simply from the challenge of managing to go to and survive in these places. Indeed, preparing for and making such expeditions are activities that in the past were done only by scientists and explorers. On the other hand, there are also some disadvantages to this way of travelling. This kind of trip is not easy. Instead, travelers should be prepared physically and psychologically to face all the risks and difficulties that are involved. In addition, the natural world is not prepared to host tourists. Due to tourism, uncontaminated sites could be damaged in various ways by human presence. For instance, many ecosystems have already been polluted by human activity. Furthermore, because there are so many places where people can visit, is it essential or necessary to travel to these remote locations? In conclusion, while travelling to places where living conditions are difficult may seem attractive and challenging to some people, there are disadvantages both for tourists and the environment that should be taken into consideration.