Nowadays, children watch a lot of tv and play video games. However, some people think that these activities are not good for a child’s mental health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technological advancement has had a massive impact on our society. In particular, it has literally transformed the lives of the younger generation. The increasing amount of time children are spending watching television and playing video games is becoming a great cause of concern for some people, who believe that these pursuits have a detrimental effect on children ’s young, impressionable minds. I completely agree that these activities hinder a child’s cognitive development. To begin with, watching too much television at home can isolate a child and make him a recluse. This is because spending too much time indoors, drastically decreases their outdoor activities and in turn, reduces the opportunities to mingle and play with other kids of their age. For instance, a child who only watches the telly in his / her free time is inadvertently socially awkward and consequently feels lonely and depressed. Therefore, children ’s mental health is negatively impacted due to the incessant use of the idiot box. In addition, a lot of these video games are related to violence and crime thereby promoting aggressive behaviour among children. When they play online games perpetually, children tend to mimic those virtual actions and abuses in the real world. This leads to them becoming more violent and aggressive by nature as they get heavily influenced by the games they play. A recent study confirmed this theory where it was found that 50% of children who play video games continually are belligerent and foul-mouthed. Hence, online games definitely act as an impairment of positive mental development. To conclude, excessive usage of television and video games by youngsters unarguably imperils their mental growth and definitely needs to be kept in check.