Many students around the world don’t choose science subjects at university. Give the reasons for this and describe the impact on the community?

It is important for the success of a country the development in science; however, a great percentage of students at university opt for other types of subjects at university such as arts and business. The following essay will provide some reasons for why this happens and how this reflects on the community. The economy of a developed nation depends greatly on innovation from the scientific field; nonetheless, a limited percentage of youngsters enrol in scientific related programs at their tertiary level of education from which some of them decide to change their subjects as they start failing and decide to choose other alternatives that allow them to succeed in their studies. To cite some evidence, the University of Toronto surveyed to understand the motifs that drove the students to take such decisions finding out that most of them find it extremely complex. A small group considered that being successful in this profession requires more specialization. Unfortunately for a country having a low percentage of people who study STEM (science, Technology, Engineering, mathematics) have a small number of professionals dedicated to the production and development locally in related subjects, thus affecting the economy. As an example, a newspaper in Britain published an article demonstrating that the decreasing number of educated workers with a background in science affected the international competition in innovative technology, and being negatively impacted financially in comparison with other countries. In conclusion, the reasons behind the drop in the number of students that prefer to study science are related to the high degree of difficulty and the extensive specialization that is required. On the other hand, the consequences of that in society are critically reflected to maintain a position in a developed nation.