Recently, abortion increases rapidly and becomes a controversial topic. Some people suppose that abortion should be legal while others are against it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

For the past one centennial, an unprecedented rise in population has been observed. So that a drastic increase in the abortion rate is seen. It is a debatable issue that whether it is to be promoted or to be restricted. Both these sides will be discussed in detail and a wise opinion would be stated later. To commence with, people who promote abortion justifies their side for numerous reasons. Firstly, abortion is mandatory in cases of rape incidents. To explain, if the victim becomes pregnant during the rape attempt could disrupt her self respect and mind and ultimately would ruin her life. For example, the honourable high court of Kerala issued a judgement to terminate 20-week pregnancy in a rape victim to save her from depression. Secondly, such a practice is necessary to control deformed births. To explain, during an ultrasound scanning if pregnancy is found to be malformed, doctors would promote miscarriage of that particular embryo. Having analyzed the above details it could be said that abortion would be indeed in certain situations. In contrast, people who are against abortion are having their own beliefs to think so. Firstly such individuals think that no one other than God has the right to end life. For example, an embryo, even if it is not born having all the vital elements in it. When it gets aborted, it is equal to killing a human being. For example, certain religions such as Christianity and Islam are against this procedure. They believe that abortion is one of the greatest sins which would not get pardoned by god. Besides religious reasons, abortion could have precarious effects on the mother's physical and mental health. For example, a study conducted by a reputed medical journal on 20 women shows that 10 of them suffer from severe pain and depression after an abortion procedure. Hence to conclude, in my opinion, abortion is a serious crime that harms innocent life. However, it is mandatory during certain unavoidable situations for the sake of women. Hence, authorities should scrutinize such procedure to prevent un-lawful events.