In recent years many governments has brought in laws to ban smoking in public places, such as bars, restaurants and offices. To what extent do you agree or disagree with banning smoking in public places?

Public smoking has become a major issue in today's world. Therefore, many local authorities have banned people from consuming cigarettes outdoor. I partially agree with the above action as it has its own merits and demerits. Firstly, smoking is identified as a harmful habit to human health as it causes cancers. Hence, prohibiting in various locations will discourage users to use it frequently and will improve the health subsequently. Moreover, it is identified that the people in the surrounding area of a smoker is more affected than the person who consumes it. Therefore, it is inarguable that the community must not be allowed to smoke in open areas. For example, many staff members in the metro stations of India are identified as cancer patients due to the fact that they are exposed to customers who use cigarettes inside the premises. Thus, it is clear why many stand for the view of banning smoking in public. However, rigid rules on smoking may have an adverse impact on countries, who solely depend on tourist income. The visitors may not prefer to travel to a particular country, if they are not allowed to behave according to their preference. Furthermore, aforesaid restrictions may discourage local customers to visit restaurants and hotels and this will have a negative impact on the growth of the hospitality industry. To illustrate, after the smoking ban in public areas in Netherland was imposed, many night clubs were shut down due to the low income. Hence, it is certain that banning is not the most optimum solution. To conclude, although restrictions on smoking have merits on public health and demerits on a country's economy. I advocate that the laws should be imposed in a manner to strike a balance between the above-mentioned factors.