In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is currently a contentious debate over whether the government or families should be responsible for paying asylum for the elderly. I firmly believe this is a family's duty, and this essay presents reasons to support my opinion. The main reason why I believe it is not a government's responsibility is that there is no budget for this purpose. This is because the government spend a lot of money on universal health care and retirement funds and, as a consequence, the budget is always in a shortage. To illustrate, in Britain, spendings on health care and retirement pensions represents almost half of the budget. In addition, one of the spendings aforementioned is in retirement funds, which means that old people already receive a payment from the government. That being said, this money should be used to cover the costs of well-being and treatments. Furthermore, I believe the families should save fund to pay for this kind of home, if necessary. This is due to the fact that no one cares more about our relatives than ourselves. I think the best option, for instance, is to start planning this situation years ahead and save a specif amount of money every month. Also, people should stop relying on the government for everything because, in the long term, the shortage of money will be higher, and even health care and pension funds are going to be compromised. In conclusion, I strongly believe that relatives should be responsible for covering the costs of homes for the elderly. This is because the government does not have enough money to pay it, and everyone knows what is the best treatment our relatives deserve, therefore we should pay it.