Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Pollution of water bodies is one of the main environmental challenges that faces society currently. As all know 70% of this planet is water, but unfortunately, we are not taking care properly of this vital resource and the reason is because many economic activities have contributed to contaminate indiscriminately our lakes, rivers, streams and ocean affecting negatively wildlife, ecosystems even human life. Within the main reasons to pollute the water bodies we can find: industrial activities, mining, pesticides and fertilizers, etc. Regarding the industrial activities, big companies release to the rivers and oceans chemistry waste that mixed with the water produce the destruction of ecosystems and wildlife. Also these activities release to the air carbon dioxide that combined with the vapor of water produce acid rainfall. Mining is also one of the most dangerous activities that contaminate the water because not only the soil is removed and contaminate rivers and lakes, but the coal extracted also release dangerous particles with the same negative effects for native species of amphibians, fishes which become carriers and transmit this waste to the humans. The indiscriminate usage of pesticide and fertilizers to protect the crops from bacteria and plagues is another cause of contamination of water bodies. The chemistry components of these substances mixed with the water is capable to kill wildlife and affect negatively complete ecosystems. Also we have the oil leakage in oceans. This oil layer is very destructive and hard to remove from the water bodies affecting a wide range of wildlife such as whales, turtles, coral reef, etc. Also the effects due to this kind of pollution can take over 100 years to overcome. Despite of this hard reality, the efforts to overcome this situation have been carried out by many people and organizations interested in protect the natural resources, mainly the water bodies because we have finally understand that without water there is no life in the planet. These efforts are represented by the application of certain alternatives to avoid the spreading of sewage and other dangerous chemistry and toxic wastes, for instance: the industrial treatment in which the levels of pollution of sewage is decrease through chemical processes.