Many of the countries believe that international tourism has harmful effects. Why do they think so? What can be done to change their views?

With the inception of Globalization, international tourism has increased immensely. However, several nations consider global travel has adverse effects. In this essay, I will try to address the reasons behind such belief and ways to bring a paradigm shift. Firstly, with the advancement in trade and commerce, global tourism has enhanced many folds, which has led to many issues related to illegal immigration, the spread of a pandemic, terrorism etc. The Governments of many countries have faced innumerable incidents of such international travel and tourism issues. It also adds to the problems that are face by the locals; for instance, refugees from Bangladesh enter into Indian borders never leave, which leads to more pressure on the scarce resources of India. However, the countries that believe in the instances mentioned above must also consider the merits of international travel that takes place these days. As we all know, tourism is a critical source of earnings for the economy of any nation. So, we cannot deny such a lucrative sector of any economy by only focussing on the problems it creates. Instead, the governments can enforce strict laws related to international travel. For instance, the Government of India can make more stringent border security to ensure control over refugees. In conclusion, we can say that there are specific harmful effects of international tourism. However, there are solutions to avoid such consequences and take the maximum advantage that international tourism offers.