Some believe that young people committed a crime should be treated as adults by authorities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that children criminals must bear responsibilities for their behavior in the same way as adults. I strongly disagree with such an approach as far as it can have the opposite effects and negative consequences. First of all, each crime should be punished based on the level of awareness of guilt which is very low or nonexistent for children. Children and young people are not fully developed emotionally and mentally which means that they should be deemed to be capable of being guilty of a crime from this perspective and to such an extent that it can be adequate. The lack of maturity can impact on Children's decision making and risk taking behaviour and children may not fully appreciate the effect their actions can have on other people and may not be capable of fully understanding the distress and pain they cause to the victims of their crimes. Therefore, a punishment that applied to adults will not target its purpose to correct the children's behavior, since the youth justice system must encourage children and young people to take responsibility for their own actions and promote re-integration into society rather than punish them. The other reason to not treat children criminals as adult ones is that it could have negative and adverse effects on them rather than improving their behavior and having re-educative effects. Being placed in the corrective institutions for adults, or young people become surrounded by adult criminals who negatively affect them that increase the rate of recidivism amongst such children. Besides, there have been proved that increasing the severity of punishments is associated with additional reoffending for those sentenced. Therefore, while recidivism is a key measure for the success of a criminal sanction scheme, a wider set of other outcome measures, including rehabilitation, education and employment, is needed to fully capture the overall effectiveness of punishments. In conclusion, I believe that overly severe penalties for young people having committed crimes leads to recidivism rather than correction of their behavior, since children do not realise their guilt completely and severe punishment only compounds the problem of youth criminality.