Increasing the price of a petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Due to its production, gas causes many pollution problems, including growing traffic. Many argue that reducing gas prices will prevent the following issues. As much as I disagree with the claim, this essay will discuss both sides of the argument and give an insight into the possible solutions. Petrol production has always been an important business sector. Moreover, it is still one of the most important industries in the world. As a result, it is the only industrial sector that impacts global politics and consequently the international economy. Due, to the high dependence on petrol prices and the power of lobbies, the world cannot afford to raise petrol prices to reduce pollution. However, many things can be done to reduce the reliance on gas and consequently contribute to a better environment. Firstly, the automobile industry is constantly developing, and therefore there many cars that already use sustainable sources, such as electrics. Also, to reduce the emission of carbon dioxide that can be found in many public means of transport, many developed countries have already replaced the engine and are now using methane. Secondly, there have been adopted many strategies that increase the taxes for people that own more cars. However, those policies are being implemented only in developed and wealthy countries. Overall, it is undeniably true that petrol is linked with many ecological issues. However, as the gas industry has the biggest impact on international economics and politics, increasing prices to reduce traffic is almost impossible. Moreover, many countries that are still in development rely on production as provides jobs for the local population.