Some people are of the opinion that children should be rewarded for good behaviour. Others think they should be punished for bad behavior. Discuss both views and give your personal opinion and reasons.

It is often considered by many people that young infant ought to be rewarded for their good deeds, whereas others argue that punishment should be given for the misdeeds of a child. Although discipline might act as a deterrent towards bad nature, I believe that the most effective way to achieve a good attitude could be to reward teenager. This essay would discuss the above arguments in detail. Some people believe in punishing infant to stop the bad practice. The main reason for this may be that with corporal retribution, a young infant may not only be deterred from behaving badly but also might be stopped from continually breaking the rules imposed on them. For instance, when the trial is inflicted on a juvenile who show disrespect towards elders, such actions might create awareness in them regarding what is right and wrong from a tender age. Had this not been done at an initial age, serious repercussions may arise in the future which could hamper their future at large. However, does punishment realistically holds the capacity to turn each child into a better individual ahead? Nevertheless, others believe that rewarding infant for their good actions certainly proves beneficial in the long run and this is agreed by me as well. When children are punished, there is every possibility that they might loathe the authority and become rebellious, thus leading to a cycle of abuse. By contrast, when they are appreciated for their outstanding behaviours, they tend to be motivated and start valuing instructions, and all this could positively uplift their self-esteem. From a tender age, for instance, a child is seen sharing toys and helping their friends. Now, if this is encouraged with rewards, children are more likely to become content and repeat the same actions in the future. Thus, rather than punishing, rewarding children leads to reinforcing sustainable behaviour, thereby protecting their self-respect. In conclusion, according to some people punishments should be given to deter children from portraying bad behaviour. Nonetheless, I believe that rewarding children could promote positive behaviour in the long run without affecting their self-esteem which is most crucial.