The internet allows us to stay connected with each other no matter where we are. On the other hand, it also isolates us and encourages people not to socialize To what extent do you agree or disagree with these statements? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no doubt that technology has been helped to keep ourselves connected independently which part of the globe we live. However, internet also contributes to self-isolation and unsociable individuals. I totally agree with this statement, and in this essay, I will discuss both sides of this argument.   In recent years, one of the most significant advents of cyberspace is the ability of staying connected one another. Most people nowadays can talk with friends and family despite of their geographical distance. For example, one of my sisters lived abroad for more than a year, regardless the distance we were able to keep contact with her over Facebook time, Skype or WhatsApp. On the other hand, innovation in telecommunication has raised some drawbacks, one of them is the fact that some people might became addicted to it, the consequences of this can be self-reclusion, isolation and ultimately, severe depression and anxiety. To illustrate this scenario, it is not rare to see people having a meal while talking or exchanging text messages in front of a friend, who in turn is doing the same. Another example, one of my friends can’t sleep before tweaking her Instagram and double check her WhatsApp first thing in the morning, therefore, it has started to affect her personal and professional life. It is my understanding that people need to develop self-awareness, spend more time outside their homes, without been all time plugged on their technological devices, as a result they will suffer less from stress, depression, self-isolation and internet addiction. Conclusion In conclusion, although internet can facilitate our communications and connection with each other despite distance, it can also cause harmful issues such as solitude, confinement and other major issues. In my opinion, the drawbacks outweigh the advantages.