Some countries have implemented mandatory community service programmes for young people. In these programmes, childred aged 16 to 18 do charity work, help old people and work with animals. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your opinion

In many parts of the world, compulsory community services like elderly support, charity work and animal care are enforced to be done by young adults. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of implementing these programmes and will also put forth a analaysed analyzed opinion as to why the merits supercede the demerits. There are a plethora of benefits to young people being part of community service. Firstly, it will inculcate values like empathy and selflessness in adoloscents. Caring for an individual or an animal is a great way to teach children the significance of humanitarian values. To illustrate, by doing volunteering in hospices young adults get to support old people and learn how to build relationships. Additionally, working with animals make them aware that all living beings are to be treated equally irrespective of species. Secondly, youth grow up to be more responsible as they get the opportunity to explore their capabilities. For example, organizing charity events can be beneficial for them in learning management skills. Thus, engaging in community activities can help in their character development. Despite these pros, there are some drawbacks to community service involvement. Firstly, youth may find it difficult to simultaneously manage their studies and community service activities. Moreover, these programmes requires time and effort. Youth might feel exhausted and may not be able to concentrate on their education. Consequently, they might fall back on their academic grades.Another drawback is that some of the younger generation may not be interested in performing community programmes.They will be forced to carryout these sessions, which inturn can adversely affect the persons or animals they are caring for. For example, if a child dislikes animals and he is forced to care for it, the animals life might be at risk. In conclusion, althought there are detrimental outcomes of enforcing community programmes for young adults it is more advantageous to them. Community activities can be helpful in character building of chidren as it propogates values like empathy, selfness and responsibiliy responsible.