Increasing the price of a petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is argued by some that problems such as pollution and busy traffic shpuld be solved by dramatically raising the price of petrol. This essay completely disagrees with that statement. In my opinion, there are several better solutions to those problems, namely more intense use of public trasportation and the emerging of electric cars. Firstly, in order to reduce pollution and traffic, a far more efficient solution rather than changing the price of petrol, will be a greater percentage of people using public transportation. This is simply because that could cause a significant decline in the numbers of private cars that are normally used on the roads. For example, if one company will offer its workers a free shuttle that will transport them every morning to their workplace, it can potentially eliminate dozens of individuals driving their car everyday. Secondly, a shift to automobiles that runs on electricity will surely lower pollution much more efficiently. Electric cars use far less petrol than non-electric ones and therfore cause a much smaller damage to the environment, as petrol is a major reason for extended pollution in many countries. For instance, my father bought an electric car a year ago, and he reported that his use of petrol has dropped tremendously over the past year, approximately by 100 percent. In conclusion, I strongly believe that there are better ways to handle the ever-growing problem of increased pollution and traffic, which includes more awareness to public transportation and extended use of electic cars, instead of just boosting the price of petrol.