Nowadays, families are not close as in the past and a lot of people have become used to it. Why is this happening? Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the drawbacks?

In the current times, individuals have become familier with the fact that families are less closer now as compared to how they were in the past. One possible explanation for this trend is modern communication capabilities. In my opinion, the drawbacks of this movement, namely weaker bonds between family members, outweigh its benefits. Today, numerous ways to communicate with other people exist besides the option of meeting them face to face. Social media and various platforms such as Facebook and others are now providing the ability to interact with someone else without actually meeting him or her. Moreover, a growing number of individuals are becoming more and more addicted to their cellphones and to these types of instant communication via different apps. For example, my child often chooses to text his friends via apps such as Whatsupp Whatsapp rather than participating in our family dinner. One of the disadvantages of this trend might be a weaker connection between family members. This is simply because that diminished family time often means weaker relationships between parents and children. For example, a child that invests a smaller amount of time with his mother compared to time he is spending with his friends might have difficulty in the future to ask for her advice when he needs it. In conclusion, families are now becoming less important compared to how they once were. New ways of communication may be one of the causes for this movement, while its drawbacks could be a weaker bond between family members.