During last twenty years, the assessment of students has undergone a major transformation. Many educational institutions have shifted their focus from traditional examination towards a variety of innovative assessment techniques, as they believe traditional examination results are not often true to student’s ability. To what extent do you agree with this belief? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

For more than a century, traditional examination to assess student’s ability was in place and this is still in use in many parts of the world. However, a more suitable and modern approach has been adopted by many educational institutions and this is often regarded as a better technique to evaluate a pupil’s learning ability and knowledge. I personally opine that innovative modern assessment technique is more effectual, and this essay will give the reasons for this statement. To begin with, the traditional assessment has shown its detriments because it was mostly based on learning by heart skill and ability to memorize. For instances, someone with little knowledge of a subject can get a higher grade by memorising answers. On the other hand, the innovative assessment allows educational institutions and universities to evaluate their students more accurately. In this technique, apart from memory,skills students are asked to show other skills like the ability to communicate, persuade and so on. For instances, in Law University, through the interview, students have been given a situation and they will have the chance to apply the law regulation to resolve the matter. Moreover, a paper-based exam system allows students to cheat the exam and pass it without even studying hard. On the other hand, the innovative assessment techniques may build lots of efficacious skills for students. For instance, oral presentation, assignments work, and other modern methods of evaluation can enhance learner's knowledge in depth, creativity, critical thinking, and more important ability to use the knowledge in the practical world. In conclusion, evaluating a learner accurately is paramount and the best method for this should be in place. No doubt the formal examination system had been used for a long, but the time has come to adopt a more accurate and practical assessment system and hence the shift towards a combination of innovative assessment systems is inevitable.