Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that adolescent should spend time in society action while others opine that they should be free to choose their activities on their own in their free time. In my opinion, a balanced approach will be appropriate because both of these characteristics are beneficial for raising a child who is self-dependent as well as cooperative. Engaging in organised group activities is certainly beneficial for children. To start with, such activities are safe because there will almost always have someone to supervise them while they play. Also, they learn several valuable skills like team spirit and cooperation when they play a team sport or get involved in a group activity. For example, when they play a sport like football or cricket, they learn the importance of working with their teammates to achieve their common goal. These activities also enhance their confidence level and interpersonal skills of children. On the flip side, it is not always possible to participate in group events. There can be times when a child is left alone. For example, his/her friends can be busy in studies and cannot play with him/her. Since such situations can arise every now and then. Every child should be able to get them occupied doing their own things. For example, they could read, write or paint. These activities will not only keep them engaged, but will also help them discover their hidden talent. The downside of spending time alone is that children may use it for unproductive activities. For example, if they are left alone most children will just sit glued to their television and computer which does not help them in any way. To conclude, it is important for children to find a way to keep themselves occupied on their own. However, parents should also encourage them to take part in group activities which can overall help them to improve their personality.