The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

Over the last century, English has become more and more popular day by day. This popularity has lead to a common belief that, soon English will be the only language used for communication by mankind. This essay intends to portray the advantages and disadvantages of there is only one language spoken by all human beings. One of the major advantages is that it will boost the tourism industry of every country. As all individuals speak a common language, tourists will find it easy to explore new destinations. For instance, recent studies have shown that people tend to choose places for their vacation, based on the easiness to communicate with the locals. Hence, by having a global medium for communication all nations can enjoy a boost in their economy due to tourism. On the other hand, a disadvantage to this belief is that it can negatively impact the traditional and cultural values of a society. Language plays a major role in tradition and culture, however, boosting the importance of a single language will diminish the values of tradition. As an example, if the natives of the Amazon jungle speak in English, the uniqueness of this ethnic group will be questioned and gradually this will lead to the non-existence of such groups. To conclude, English has been a popular language amongst the human population. This popularity has also lead to the thought of having a global language for all. Although this has the advantage of promoting tourism, it also has a negative impact on the sustainability of cultural and traditional values.