Getting promotions is one of the biggest drives for people to apply themselves and work hard in the modern workplace. Why do you think people are so driven to get promotion? What other factors influence people to work hard?

Promotion is the real goal of people for which they work hard and make efforts. People make efforts for promotion to earn better. People work better to get appreciation from their seniors and top-level management. Firstly, people quench for promotions because they want to earn better. If people promote to senior designation, they get better salaries. People are aware that promotion will lead to better income. This is the basic human nature to work hard for monetary benefits because they believe better money means better life for them. They consider those better living standards can be achieved with better salaries so they work hard for promotions. For example, employees of Google admitted that they work hard for promotions because they desire for better wages. Hence, people work hard for promotions for better pay. Secondly, appreciation is the other factor which causes people to work hard. Employees are human first. Every human works hard, if they are motivated and others appericiate their work. Everyone quests for the appreciation of their seniors. This is the basic feature of a human. If they are appreciated continously, they will keep making efforts and doing hard work. For instance, employees of HCL admitted that they stop their endeavours, if their boss does not appreciate them. Hence, appreciation is the other thing which employees seek along with promotion. In conclusion, employees seek for promotion for better salaries. The other thing they quench for and make enormous efforts is appreciation of the quality of the work they do.