More and more businesses as well as individuals are choosing to communicate either professionally or socially using technology rather than being face to face. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using technology for communication

The communication between persons is now regularly done through the aid of technological inventions. Although, technology has made interactions between people easier and faster, it has also created distance in close relationships and a chance of data manipulation all over the internet. Since the invention of technological gadgets such as computers, smart phones as well as social media platforms like Whatsapp or Instagram, the interaction between individuals has taken a new dimension. Firstly, it is now easier to send whatsoever message to a person and even to a wider range of persons. Sensitization on precautionary measures to combat the spread of the corona virus was easily achieved all over the world for instance. Secondly, it no longer takes months or years to head from someone in a distant land as opposed to what was before technology took over. To send a letter to a loved one either a family member or a spouse or even a friend is now much more faster and quickly done. For an example, it takes only a mail to know about the welfare of a person who we want to keep in touch with. The spread of news and messages is now faster and easier through the use of technology. There are setbacks technology has in communication despite its benefits. Firstly, is the high chance of data manipulation. Most of the information on the internet can be easily falsified with the intention of deceiving the general population. An example is the spread of an alleged salt and water therapy, thought to prevent the spread of Ebola virus during its outbreak. This false news which made rounds all over the Whatsapp took the lives of so many in return especially the elderly. Secondly, there is also a distance in close relationship as a result of the wide use of technology. People no longer choose to visit families or even friends as it is considered a waste of time. This however, creates a rifts in bonds that once existed with proximity in such instances. The risk of data manipulation is paramount and the rift in relationships can be experienced with the snowballing use of technology on communication. In conclusion, although, it can be attested to that the use of technology has made interactions easier and faster with no delay at all, the risk of wrong information being spread is high and also the loss of close relationships is evident.