Most people believe that stricter punishment should be given for traffic offences. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Nowadays, we are witnessing road accidents, traffic violations and damaging public properties in many ways. To prevent these violations should implicate severe laws by the government itself. I believe heavy fines and long-term sentences will help to bring down motoring offences and maintain road safety for people and drivers. On the one hand, most accidents are happening by mistakes and ignoring the laws that could easily be controlled. For example, speeding, taking calls/eating while driving, driving in the wrong lane, taking a turn without a signal are the most common errors made by the drivers. So by causing these offences are damaging to the people and properties in dreadful ways like losing life, long-term injuries and loss of valuable assets. By imposing heavy penalties and long-term imprisonment could keep safe driving and maintain a quality transportation system. On the other hand, punishment deterring traffic crimes is not the best way and it leads to an unfavourable choice for people. Furthermore, a person's behaviours and attitudes can not be controlled by the law and it causes disturbance among the public. Laws must be reasonable and fair for each violation done. For instance, courts can order the volunteering works for simple abuse like jaywalking, ignoring road signs while jail sentence for hit-and-run, damaging person life. To conclude, many people think forcing strict punishment could deter traffic violations and others prefer the law must be based on the nature of the violation. I agreed with a hard punishment solution to prevent most crimes except for others.