Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

There is a common argument today on whether students should be free to choose their subjects or not. In my opinion, every university must have their field of study and their students have to be forced to take subjects taught there. On the one hand, the possibility of opting for a favourite subject might be appealing for several reasons. First, such a system of education encourages no restriction of knowledge. Therefore, students would gain a wider outlook and be skilled in several fields. Second, in terms of job prospects, some professions might be more attractive than what job university students are being taught. This can be a reason for a desire to study other subjects, especially, if that profession offers a better salary or career progression. On the other hand, giving students freedom of choosing subjects may cause chaos in the education system. Universities will have no exact dedication for one sphere and as a result, graduates would face uncertainty in choosing their profession. Moreover, with such a system, a huge number of universities will go bankrupt and close. Most educational establishments do not have sufficient financial means to employ teachers for a wide range of subjects, hence they will be forced to stop their activity.