Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued by some that students in tertiary institutions ought to choose any course they want, while others think that important courses such as science and technology should be forced on them. Although allowing students to follow their interests make them put enough energy to excel, science and technology courses will be more beneficial to them and the country in the future because it could be exported for more money. On the one hand, it is believed that when students are given the free will to do anything, they tried their best to be successful instead of being forced. This is because the majority of higher institution students lose focus when they are studying subjects that are complex for them to comprehend. Consequently, some of these young adults ended up as school dropouts and drug addicts after being advised to withdraw from their various departments. For instance, most of the undergraduates that were admitted into the higher institutions in Nigeria ended up with bad results because they all wanted an easy subject. In my opinion, they forgot that there was no simple course in the universities. On the other hand, new inventions could be produced by graduates of higher institutions of learning, which would be exported to other states in return for money. That is to say that when these scholar are trained to study courses related to science and technology, they will bring out new inventions. As a result, these new products will be sold to other nations in form of foreign exchange earnings. For example, in the recent pandemic, a country such as the United States of America was able to produce vaccines which enable them made a huge amount of money because other countries bought from them. In conclusion, as much as young adults thought that the less difficult path to success in life is to study any course, science and engineering will be advantageous to an individual as well as the nation at large.