Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Sporting events have been part of people ’s life across the world. While I believe that if a country holds this global-scale sporting event, it can come up against some difficulties. There are a number of benefits, both financial and cultural. One the one hand, the considerations that are obvious are the costs for preparation and concerns about safety. First, it is apparent that in order for the event to take place, the venue must be made ready and it is easy to see that the money spent on the construction of stadiums which can accommodate thousands of people at one time, the facilities for different types of games, may amount to an exorbitant amount. Another major worry is the potential dangers which may happen any time as spectators gather in large numbers. There are always members of opposition groups, gangsters out there waiting for a chance to cause trouble. As a matter of fact, there are many cases of violence at sporting scenes all over the world. However, with careful planning and strict safety regulations, these two problems can be alleviated. One the other hand, more money and cultural exchange can be the two noticeable merits to hosting an event for people worldwide. The first benefit can be easily seen as there are always fans of some sportspeople who are willing to pay extravagantly to see their idols play their games, near or far. Those people are usually very generous and for them money is no object. Besides them, there are many others who may not want to spend as much but when they come to the host country, they have made valuable contributions. Not only do these people benefit the country economically, but they also bring their culture in contact with the country they come to. For these people, they do not come to a country to just watch the sports, they tend to spend time travelling around, talking to the locals and experiencing the differences in terms of customs and traditions. By talking and sharing with them, the people in the host country can also learn about their visitors’ culture, which makes cultural exchange happen. In summary, there are certainly difficulties in getting prepared for a large scale sport event, but such problems can be lessened and the advantages can easily surpass the shortcomings.