People use computers more extensively these days than ever before, and it is so extensive in our modern world that even children have access to these devices to play games or watch videos. This essay discusses the disadvantages of playing digital games on computer devices by youngsters and suggests some measures to reduce such negative effects.

There are some concerning adverse impacts of the youngster playing video games, and the most devastating one is the addiction created. Millions of dollars are spent to make such games to attract a large audience and keep them glued to the PC monitors or consoles. So they are addictive by design and this obsession hampers youngster's outdoor activities, studies and even time to socialize and learn important life skills. Many research works suggest that children who spend many hours playing such computer games end up performing poorly in schools and avoid social events and outdoor events. This results in physical and psychological issues including poor eyesight and despair. Moreover, violent games cloud the youngsters' judgement and make their rational thinking unstable. Often, youngsters who play such games develop brash behaviours. To minimize the severity of these negative impacts, parents must monitor their youth’s activities, especially on computers. They should not be allowed to play computer games for more than a few hours each week and parents can actively take part in those games with their children so that it becomes family time. Children's outdoor activities should be taken seriously and parents should take them out whenever possible. Finally, parents can use parental control on the digital contents and games their children watch or play. This would deter children from downloading and playing games that are not suitable for their age. To conclude, computer games, when played excessively by children, have many detrimental effects. Proper parenting and monitoring seem like the best solution to solve these problems.