Some people think that the government should spend taxpayers’ funds on cultural activities such as music or art. Others think this is a waste of money. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, some countries has been spending taxpayers' funds to sustain an artistic agenda such as cultural institutions, artists and products from this industry, partly supported by their communities. There are also people that do not agree with this policy, believing that it is a useless waste. Nonetheless, I echo the former perspective. On one hand, music and arts are beneficial to the development of a country. Cultural activities and instituitions can provide support and increase welfare because they are related to education and mental health. For example, if museums and cultural centres are available, children might find better opportunities to deepen their knowledge and research during school time as much as elderly people find occupation and social interaction, which might be lacking on their daily lives and bringing consequeces with the isolation, such as depression. On the other hand, nations face greater urgencies that need immediate and heavy investments. Moreover, the availability of funds can make the difference with rapid assistence and services. For instance, if the health care system finds itself dealing with an unexpected outbreak or shortage of medical goods, the government must redirect its funds to support those areas immediately. In this scenario, culture and artistic attractions are not the priority. However, on my own opinion, the expenditure of taxes in the cultural industry is a financial strategy that assures the preservation of historic identity, expansion of access to education, sense of citizenship and profissionalization as well. For example, the cultural field has a pivotal role on tourism, which contributes to the countries' wealth with visitors and investors. With circus, art exhibitions, plays, movie production, the population profit from entertainment and employment. To sum up, although arts and music might not be considered as basic needs for some people that questionate questionable question its expenses, there are more benefits than drawbacks when the governments reserve funds to maintain cultural attractions and its workers.