In many countries, governments spend a lot of money celebrating national holidays and festivals. However, some people think that spending money on these celebrations is a waste. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Observing different carnivals is considered the essential way of fostering a nation’s pride and dignity. Governments of many countries allocate a massive amount of budget for commemorating holidays and festivals. This essay will argue why celebrating country-wide festivals and holidays is completely unnecessary despite few advantages. Unanimous celebration of the national ceremony is not only a way of preserving the own culture, ritual, and norms of a country but also a technique for eliminating all sort of discrimination in society. While people show tribute and honour to their cultural values, this occasion also gives the opportunity to tighten the bondage and reduce discrimination among different groups of people in a society. For instance, Pohela Boishakh, the first day of the Bangla calendar, has been observing for the last 400 years. Being a primary traditional and cultural event of Bangladesh, this festival is usually commemorated by the Bangladeshi from all income-level as well as social groups. Therefore, celebrating a national program is a vital element for increasing a nation’s honour and eradicating discrimination among a community. Despite a few advantages of commemorating nationwide carnivals, observing these holiday might cause unwanted spending of taxpayers’ money. Government can utilize these funds for other vital sectors, such as health and education, instead of spending extravagantly to celebrate festivals. For example, almost 8% of the total government budget of Bangladesh has been expended in celebrating a different social and political occasion in a year. Thus, if governments save the expenditure of celebrating national ceremony, they will allocate additional budget to the health and education sector. In conclusion, the celebration of the cultural ceremony is significant for preserving the tradition and culture of a community. However, spendings on the basic needs, health, and education sector of the people are far more important than observing any social occasion.