Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Other value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinions.

People's opinions differ as to whether institutions and companies should allow their employees to dress by desires. While I agree that the other merits and the quality of accomplishments are more crucial than appearance, I would argue that the attire code might bring certain benefits in certain organizations. Appearance could not be the critical factor to evaluate the success of an organization. Instead, work placement, quality of products, social contributions are the decisive parameters in appreciating a company. Take Facebook, for example, people all acknowledge its grandness and widespread influence around the world of this technological giant, and it does not have a uniform. Even its chairman, Mark Zuckerberg is rarely seen in a glamorous vest or suit. Furthermore, casual costume, or allowing workers to clothe what they are willing, would make them feel more comfortable, results in increasing working productiveness. Dress code, on the other hand, is essential in some occupations. Police officers, doctors, and nurses, in particular, are required to wear uniforms. These uniforms, to some degree, provide practical or safety functions, but more importantly, they represent the person's position or role in society. Similarly, a lawyer, politician, or school principal may choose to wear formal clothing to portray an image of authority, prestigiousness, and diligence. I hold the belief that people prefer to see these professionals in smart, formal attire, even if it is not strictly necessary. In conclusion, I advocate the trend toward free dress to workers, but in certain professions or sectors of society, I still believe that the dress code has a significant role to play.