Some people say that in all levels of education from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people argued that theoretical knowledge taught at all levels of education consumed a considerable amount of time and less attention is given to learning useful skills. I completely agree that there is a huge amount of time studying factual information as compared to practical skills. It is no doubt that some courses require a boatload of information to be able to function effectively in their chosen field. The knowledge they acquire from learning theoretical knowledge will be pivotal during their hands-on experience. For example, medicine and nursing students need to study diverse kind of diseases, medical procedures as well as different types of medications before immersing themselves in the clinical area. This could give them confidence and enough knowledge in handling patients with different ailments. However, not all jobs or professions are as complicated as those in the medical field. There are many careers that could be better to focus on the practical side rather than memorizing a vast amount of information that could be useless in the future such as those who study culinary art, tourism management and so on. These students should spend much of their time mastering their craft thru constant exposure and experience since this is what they will do in the future rather than allotting time mastering complicated math and science that has nothing to do with their chosen career. Furthermore, there are numbers of students who could ace their academic examination but when it comes to a practical test, a lot of students fall behind. In conclusion, learning loads of theoretical facts is essential in particular professions. Nevertheless, most of the other courses are in need of a bit of a theory and more of a practical application.