Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to keep themselves occupied on their own.

Some people feel parents should instil a love of group activities into their children over pastimes. However, others think children should be able to keep themselves occupied doing their own things. Since both ways are essential for kids, I do suggest children should do activities a mix of teamwork and on their own. To commence with, parents who tend to push their kids to take part in organized group activities are aware of team spirit and cooperation skills. Imagine a child who is doing an activity with a group, they share their ideas and opinions that lead to strengthening cognitive skills. Not to mention, children have more fun when engaging in an activity with their peers rather than on their own. So, it is another positive aspect of being in a group. However, being able to keep themselves occupied on their own is also important for children. A child needs to become a problem solver, so he/she should have enough space to think and find out the best solution on his/her own. Besides this, children might be occasionally being alone and thus they should become familiar with this situation more and more. In conclusion, it is true that the more involved children get in a group activity, the more skilled they become in team spirit. In my view, apart from participating in group activities, kids should learn to be able to occupy themselves on their own.