Eating too much sugar is harmful for health. Some people think that it is government responsibility to limit people’s sugar consumption, while others think that it is individuals responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Sugar has been considered to be a harm for human body. In terms of making solutions for sugar intake, government is expected to take action on society’s sugar consumption. On the other hand, it is believed that people should have their own responsibility on limiting the amount of sugar they consume. In my opinion, both ideas are rational but I strongly reckon with the fact that government takes a greater impact on the consumption of sugar. Nowadays, the appearance of sugar is rife among our society and the food seems to be addictive to many people. Although sugar is well-known for its harmful character, however, there is still a tremendous amount of people struggle with limiting sugar in their diet, and the major reason is lack of knowledge about sugar. Sugar can be in many forms other than granulated, it also appears in honey, maple syrup, canned food or frozen goods. There are many people who avoid granulated sugar but still consume other forms of sugar unconciously which makes them find it hard to limit the sugar intake. Because people ’s actions towards sugar consumption is not efficient due to the reason above, thus government participation is crucial. In terms of government’s responsibility towards sugar consumption, raising sugar awareness for residents is a delicate solution. For instance, adolescent in Canada are now prepared with knowledge in relation to sugar at school. The Canada’s food guide, for example, has been making potential impacts on people ’s diet as well as sugar consumption among the society. As a result, since 2000, the obesity rate in the country has decreased two-fold comparing to the last few decades. In conclusion, people ’s responsibility to limit sugar consumption cannot be efficient without government involvement.