In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

People used to go shopping only to get daily needs. However, nowadays, shopping has become the favorite leisure activity for many people. While there have been debates over the two opposite statements, in my opinion, while shopping is not only about purchasing goods, and we can also find quite a great enjoyment in it, the disadvantages of it is still to be reckoned with. Some believe that treating shopping as a hobby is a positive trend with beneficial effects. For example, nowadays there is more diversity in the things that we can buy. Brands tend to produce different style products for customers to choose from which means people can have more choices that makes shopping more fun. Also, it is a precious time for families. Many parents work full-time, they only have little time to spend with their families. Thus, shopping becomes a warm activity for them. On the other hand, some people say that this newer way of looking at shopping is a negative thing. We are constantly manipulated by messages from marketing campaigns telling us that if we buy a certain product we will be more beautiful or more trendy. People pursue pretty but impractical stuffs desperately, therefore, people buy things they do not really need and may cause them into debt. In conclusion, shopping undoubtedly plays an essential and inevitable role in our daily life. While shopping may bring us joy and pleasure, it is also important to make a balance between shopping as a hobby and as routine domestic tasks.