Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others think that they should be allowed to study subjects those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are different arguments related to the importance of various subjects taught in the university. Pertaining to this, certain advocates believe that the pupils should study topics of their choice, while some critics oppose the idea as they believe only Science and Technology should be studied. However, in my perspective, I truly feel that although vocational subjects have an edge over others, individuals should read everything to shape their future. On the one hand, others consider that the students should study subjects of their choice for two main reasons. Firstly, it will help them to focus on subjects such as history or arts that are also equally important. For example, my cousin who was interested in literature used to study arts more as compared to other topics. Secondly, other subjects are of equal importance and students should not be misguided about their role in the education system. To be clear, the entire pattern of education has all topics covered for the complete development of the individual. On the other hand, others and I are of the opinion that science and technology are a shade better for three major factors. To begin, not only do they help students to get further education, but also secure jobs. For example, my cousin who was inclined towards science, went on to become an engineer. In addition, these subjects broaden the horizons of the pupils and allow migration from one stream to the other. To be precise, considering the vast field of science, an individual trained in civil engineering can go on to own a construction business. Lastly, these subjects have a lot of practical aspects, that kids enjoy. To conclude, I strongly believe that vocational subjects help in brightening up the future of a child, but the basic subjects are equally needed for proper upbringing of the same student. It is recommended to focus on all topics irrespective of their face value.