Although more and more people use public transport, some city streets are still overcrowded with traffic. How can this problem be solved? Provide specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

These days, increasingly numbers of people have started to use public transport, but there is still the problem of traffic jams on some urban areas. As long as there are private cars, I guess the problem will persist. This essay will look at the ways in which the government and individuals could tackle this issue. To deal with this problem, people should be encouraged to walk or to use non-motorised means, such as a bike, to move shorter distances. In turn, increasing spending on private cars should also be considered. This would not only minimize traffic congestion, but also be beneficial to the environment. The downside of this solution, people with a medical condition related to their legs, would not be able to use bicycles and would have to use more costly modes of transport. An alternative solution to this problem is that the government should provide adequate, clean and safe public transport services whereby more people will use public transport instead of taking their own private vehicles. As at the moment, there are a growing number of overcrowded buses than there are roads with transport. Therefore, if the government solves this problem, people will be able to get to where they need to go by public transport. This problem has a negative side, people who are in a hurry and can't wait for the bus to get to the right station will have to use private cars or taxis and overpay. In the conclusion, nowadays urban centres and towns all over the world are experiencing serious transport problems. Most of this is related to growing populations and inferior public transport. Still, some things that governments could do to solve this problem are to improve public transport, develop new neighbourhoods and persuade their residents to use bicycles, for example.