Some people say that arts subjects such as painting or drawing should not be made compulsory for high school students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued whether pupils in high schools should take arts as madatory subjects. Although I agree that arts seems less productive as to future livelihood for students, it empowers both individual and society in different aspects. Arts classes tend to be deemed as leisure activities rather than academic subjects such as math or Language. However, if they are taken out of the curriculum, youngsters who are talented may lose their opportunities to excell their forte. On the other hand, those less gifted could learn how to enjoy and apprciate arts to express their emotions which is essential for releasing anxiety. In addition, teachers could get closer to adolescent's dolescents's feelings by observing their artwork and furhter improve the comminication when students are abundant to get help from authotiry figures. By introducing arts, the young could be exposed to various types of arts and expand their vision towards expression, communication and self-presentation. Through the compulsory curriculum of arts, students who are lack of access to arts from their families could have a equal change to develop sense of beauty. It is crucial for education to sustain the younger generation with not only the skills to pursue their careers in future, but also preparing them a healthy, positive perspecive of life. Studying surrounded with art influences could expand teenagers ideas, creativities, and imagination regarding their future life and therefore a diversed society. In conclusion, compulsory arts subjects may not prove its merits immediately, the long-term implications could improve students wellbeing and benefit society as a whole.