In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The expenditure over the public transport is under debate. Pertaining to this, certain advocates believe that the maximum expenses should be diverted on the development of the novel rail tracks for superfast trains while some critics oppose the idea as they feel that the present modes of travel must be improved. However, in my perspective, I strongly believe that there is a need for bullet trains for faster connectivity. On the one hand, others are of the opinion that there are two reasons to better the prevalent systems of commuting. Firstly, every mode of travelling will always require maintenance because of the constant wear and tear due to use. For example, my cousin who uses the metro train to travel in Mumbai has notice that adequate money and time is given to repair of these new trains. Secondly, there are certain areas like villages and hills that will always depend on the existing roadways for transport. To be precise, the geographical factors are not conducive for any other modes of travel. On the other hand, others and I feel that the very fast trains are the need of the hour for two factors. To begin, they drastically reduce the time to move from one place to another. To illustrate, Russia’s bullet train takes just two hours to reach St. Petersburgh from Moscow. Moreover, it leads to a great decline in the monetary requirements for travelling. To be clear, those who travel by air spend the highest amount but the same distance can be traversed in nearly the same amount of time in a less cost by fast train. To conclude, after having a glance at the above explanation, I truly feel that society will benefit in many ways by using these bullet trains. It is recommended that even if the new systems are introduced they will need servicing.