Some people believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to take care of their own health and diet. Others however believe that governments should make sure that their citizens have a healthy diet. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued by some that individuals themselves hold the responsibilty to eat right and maintain a healthy life-style, due to the fact that they are the only ones who can control their diet. In my opinion, governments are responsible for the health of their residents and have to do so in order to save lives. On the one hand, people should take care about their health and diet because they are the only ones capable of doing so. In other words, there is no organization or instutution that can can force a change in regard to the eating habits of a certain individual. People eat on average three times a day and it is an extremely difficult task to follow each piece of food that every individual digests. For example, I frequently eat ice cream in my house when I am alone and currently there is no technological device or method that can know this action took place. On the other hand, governments can lower the incidence of obesity and cardiovascular diseases by making sure their citizens eat propely. Obesity has turned in to a significant issue nowadays, causing a growing number of people dying and suffering from Diabetes as a results of an unballanced diet. Governments are the ones responsible for the health of their residents and can save a great number of lives just by controlling the types of food that people in their countries consume. For instance, in North Korea, where the government has banned fast-food, there is a substantial lower number of obesity and a lower rate of heart conditions. In conclusion, I strongly believe that governments should interefere with their citizens diet, because of the major impact this action migth have on the general health of its population.