Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

There are different arguments related to academic subjects. Pertaining to this, certain advocates believe that students should learn the science of food and cooking skills, while some critics oppose it, as they think they should concentrate on studying the main subjects. However, in my perspective, I strongly believe that cooking subjects should be included in the syllabus. On the one hand, others often give paramount importance to science of food during school days for two main reasons. This is mainly due to the fact that food study can help them have versatile knowledge relating to nutrients, which means that, students will be more knowledgeable as to what to be eaten and what to avoid while eating. For instance, it is widely known that sugar consumption can lead to diabetes in long run so if children learn this at an early age then they will definitely try to control consuming sugar in their dietary. Furthermore, cooking is considered a survival skill, as they can easily adapt to an environment with no ready-made food supply. Seen in this light, it is significantly important to involve food making subjects during school days. On the other hand, the detractors do not agree with the aforementioned standpoint, because they think that subjects such as math and literature can provide an individual with the foundation knowledge to smoothly transit into a professional working environment. The reason for this is if they learn such subjects, then they can become a well-qualified individuals to take up the challenging jobs in the future. For example, if students learn math since nursery, then they can solve difficult mathematical questions once they are grown up. Consequently, they will earn handsome wages by learning such subjects ’ right from the early age. Hence, it becomes apparent to include other prominent subjects. To recapitulate, although some people assert that toddlers should only study imperative subjects, others are of the opinion that adding cooking in the syllabus can help a person to learn about food and become independent in long run. In my perspective, cooking is one of the prominent tool to survive anywhere in the world. It is recommended to learn cooking if people want to be independent and live on their own.