Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give own opinion.

It often happens that, personal information, for instance, favourite pastimes, marital status, etc.; is asked by the employers. It creates a debate between people whether this information impacts the job perspective of the applicant or not. In my opinion, I find it pertinent to gather all this data about the candidates. Making the interviewee comfortable and bringing a friendly environment is one of the reasons for asking about the light topics which need not be well thought. Answering these sort of easy questions makes the person confident and helps to break the ice in front of the interview board. Another thing that should be noted that these answers of the applicant benefit the employer to understand the state of mind of the person. While managing the office, the employer can keep all this information in mind and synchronize everything by connecting everyone in the office, which leads to a very healthy office environment. On the contrary, sometimes privacy can be hampered when personal information is spread widely. Furthermore, it is often heard about the bullying tendency of the colleagues which affects adversely on the office environment. Not all private things to be discussed in public. If asking these things makes the person uncomfortable or the person denies answering, the topics should be left aside. To summarize, although asking for private information occasionally creates a hazardous situation for the person. Nonetheless, proper coordination and utilization of the appropriate information may lead to a healthy relationship among the colleagues which even helps to improve the work quality of the employees.