In some countries around the world men and women are having children at a later age than in the past. What are the reasons for this development? What are the effects on society and family life?

In modern times, the issue of ages of having a baby has become highly controversial. In certain nations women and their partner plan to have a child in their late thirties or forties. There are myriad of causes that can be ascribed to this scenario, which will be discussed in the forthcoming paragraphs followed by its impacts. To commence with, there are numerous reasons which state that why this is happening. First and foremost, people want to show themself adult and smart at the longest period of their life so, they do not want to marry at a very small age. In addition to this, men and women want to complete their higher education qualifications and focus on making a career instead of marriage at an early age. To elucidate, one needs to fulfil their study to get desired work for their survival therefore, they do not plan to get married at a young age. As a result, most of the people has to postpone of having a baby and family. To exemplify, according to a survey conducted by the United Nations Census Bureau in 2019, people all over the world put their all efforts to find work till their eligibility due to which they are not able to make family plans when they are matured beings. Hence, it is great evidence that career goal is becoming a major factor in having children at a later age. There are a plethora of detrimental effects reaped from this phenomenon. One of the major impacts it has on society and family life is having more generation gap. To explicate, if parents give birth to their baby at a later age then there will be more age gap between father or mother to their children. Another consequence is that people might confront some serious health problem due to this trend. To explain, one women or man who are older have a baby, their children can have some genetic disorders like Down’s syndrome. For instance, according to recent research done by the World Health Organisation, due to giving birth to children at the age of around forty they have to take more medicines and other treatment by which 80% of parents failed to give birth to a healthy baby. Thereby, it can be seen from the above points that it has a number of aftermaths which needs to be taken seriously. To conclude, owing to the reasons such as, to render first priority to study and job the issue of having kids at an elder age than in the past is becoming grave in nature, further having harmful impacts like more generation gap and having illness problems during birth.