After finishing school, some students go traveling or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. Do you think the advantages of gap years outweigh the disadvantages?

Some students choose to find a job or travel during some period between finishing school and entering university. In my opinion, having a break can bring more problems to teenagers compared to any benefits. Admittedly, there are some basics advantages for young people who decide to take a gap year. First, they might use this time to understanding their wants in life. This will give them an opportunity to opt for a university and the major there without any pressure. Second, youngsters can become more mature during this period of time. For instance, usually, teenagers, who start working, renting accommodation, and paying bills, take all responsibilities for their life to themselves. Furthermore, many of them may change the way of thinking and improve the relationships with their parents. Nevertheless, despite the positive aspects above, I believe that students could face serious drawbacks from having a gap year. One possible problem is that they might lose knowledge received at school. In other words, in order to pass exams before entering a university, teenagers have to reveal knowings in different subjects and get an acceptable score. However, it is well known that people’s minds forget unnecessary information, and some amount of time ought to be spent to refresh them. Another obvious issue is that they can use this time to build a successful career in the future. For example, in many companies, the priority will be given to the younger applicants instead of older ones. In conclusion, entering a university straight after graduating from school far outweigh any minor advantages which might appear from having a gap year.