Due to development and rapid expansion supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advent of globalisation, there has been a surge in the number of supermarket groups around the world. Some believe that as more and more people flock towards such franchises for shopping it will affect the local businesses and in turn the community. I completely agree with this statement and the following essay will put forward points in support of my view. To begin with, nowadays there is a myriad of grocery chains for people to purchase their consumables. Even though, these outlets provide more varieties of products for the buyers to choose from, they lack the warmth and friendliness offered by local businesses. Moreover, local stores have a long history of existence in a community and they are a part of the lives of the people residing there. For example, I have been living in Bedok, Singapore for a long time now and I have been patronising many local shops here. The shop owners recognize me and it makes me feel happy and creates a sense of belonging. So, small businesses do play a significant role in creating a sense of oneness in the community and their extinction will affect the citizens. Secondly, many multi-national chains fail to connect with their customers as they are money-minded and their only concern is profits. However, small establishments care for their customer's needs and their priority is customer satisfaction.. For instance, if you go to a local shop to order seasonal produce and if it is not in stock, the shop owner will immediately make arrangements to order it.Small scale shops always offer fresh and seasonal products and give importance to quality than quantity and always brings the best for their buyers,unlike supermarket chains. So to conclude, the recent spread of supermarket stores can bring about the closure of small shops existing in communities. It will definitely affect the residents as these establishments are part and parcel of their daily lives. Supermarkets can never develop cordial relationships with their customers as they lack the p