Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying get a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Universities offer two types of courses, those which focus on one main subject, and those that offer additional subjects. Student choices are dependent on their life goals. This essay will explain the rationale for student choices and make a case for the most suitable of the two. Firstly, in regard to studying subjects in addition to the main one, students find this a more advantageous course of action as it opens doors to a variety of employment opportunities. For example, if a student studies for a bachelor's degree in Maths, Physics and Chemistry, they are eligible to land a job in the software industry, as well as in the other sectors. Hence, there is an undebatable advantage to becoming proficient in several subjects. On the other hand, if a person aims to specialise in a subject at University, they have the upper hand when trying to make a career in their chosen field of work. For instance, if a person wants to become a physicist, it is imperative for them to study as many aspects of physics as they can in their university courses to obtain a coveted position in a reputed scientific institute. While this perspective is also valid, very few individuals in a population have such specific vocational inclinations. Most people instead are not very choosy and are just looking for a paying job and hence, opting for a general course of studies is preferred. In conclusion, while universities do well to offer both specialised and general programs of study, the latter are found to be more popular because they lead to many more job prospects. I agree with this perspective as it is important to cater to the masses, even though there might be a few outliers who are intent on qualifying in a specialist area.