In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. Which do you think is appropriate in today’s world?

Curriculums designed for adolescents varied in different regions, while some providing a wider spectrum of knowledge, others emphasise specific career-related lectures. Although both sides have their benefits and drawbacks, I believe broader syllabi better suit the development of the young. Pupils in secondary schools are in the period of exploring and developing self-identity and self-esteem. It is essential in formative years to be supported in an inclusive surrounding to pave their foundation for later life. Increasing numbers of schools in Taiwan, for example, introduce programmes other than common academic ones to discover young learners' talent and expand their capacity for further studying. On top of this, a variety of options including academic and art subjects mimic society functions and help youngsters to develop the ability of decision making. Also, teenage learners with wider visions are more adoptable to a diverse society. On the other hand, educators who advocate career-focused learning argue that this is more practical. Students who begin professional subjects before tertiary education tend to outperform the rest who start later in university. My college classmates in finance studying, for instance, who graduated from vocational schools are competent in statistic, accounting and economics. Nevertheless, young adults are premature to make certain their paths, those who struggled with the details of subjects will lose chances to more suitable routes. This will undermine teenagers confidence in the long term and hamper their growth towards society changes and unprecedented challenges. In conclusion, since it is prominent for young pupils to explore their interests and possibility, policymakers should pay more attention to this issue for younger generations.