In many large cities people waste hours of their time every day because of traffic congestion on the road

in urban centres around the world, a great deal of time is wasted daily due to traffic jams. This is a serious issue because it affects people's livelihood and mental health. This essay will consider the main causes to traffic congestions, before proposing two possible solutions. Perhaps the most important cause of traffic problems in cities is lack of public transport. with few alternatives, many people choose to travel by car, as it is quicker and more convenient. As a result, traffic jams occur, particularly on popular routes such as main roads. Another key factor is uniform working hours across the city. The majority of people start and finish work and school at a similar time. This means that roads become extremely congested at certain times of day, for instance, at "rush hours " in the mornings and evenings. Fortunately, however, the are two promising solutions to this problem. first of all local governments should invest more in public transport. This will make this option more attractive and reduce a number of cars on the road. For example, in my city, the council has created a network of cycle paths which encourage people to cycle to work. Secondly the city government should introduce different working hours for schools and public facilities, which would further cut down the number of commuters travelling at particular times. In conclusion, traffic congestion is a serious problem which primarily caused by limited public transport, along with the shared working schedule of many dwellers. I recommend that governments address this issue by investing in public transport infrastructure, and implementing varied working hours in public facilities.