In some countries around the world men and women are having babies late in life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on society and the family?

It is certainly the case that more and more people delay their plan to have family. In the following essay, I will address the causes of this phenomenon and note some of the impacts on both the family and society. The most obvious factors relating to giving birth late is the prevalence of higher education. With higher proportion of young people attending university, they postpone their graduation and financial independence until latter in their twenties. Furthermore, younger generations have a tendency of pursueing personal value such as career fulfillment which leads to less focus on building a family. In the same vein, since raising children is time consuming and expensive, some youngster prefer to invest their money in their own development. Consequantly, this issue results in profound implications on society in the long term. First of all, there are higher risk for disabled infants to be born by older people biologically and this will compound the burden on the mother, the family and the medical system. Secondly, when the gap between generations are expanded, workforce becomes scarce and gradually deteriorates economic growth. On the other hand, parents who start family late may have to extend their working years to earn sufficent income for the upbringing. In addition, older parents may have less energy to raise children and make ends meet in the same time. Also, wider age difference between the offspring and parents increases the difficulty of communication regarding ideas and conception of the world. In conclusion, we should analyse the factors causing this trend and take action to halt the detrimental impacts on both society and the family,.