In some countries around the world men and women are having babies late in life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on society and the family?

It is certainly the case that more and more people delay their plans to have a family. There are several reasons that contribute to this phenomenon and I believe it has profound impacts on both the family and society. The most obvious factor relating to giving birth late is the prevalence of higher education. With an escalating proportion of pupils attending tertiary education, they postpone their graduation and financial independence until later in their twenties. Furthermore, younger generations have a tendency to pursue personal values such as career fulfilment and focus less on building a family. In the same vein, since raising children is time consuming and expensive, youngsters prefer to invest money in their own interests. In the long term, this issue results in profound substantial implications for society. First of all, there is a higher risk for disabled infants to be born by older people biologically and this compounds the burden on the mother, the family and the medical system. Secondly, when the gap between generations is expanded, the workforce becomes scarce and gradually deteriorates economic growth. Turning to the impacts on the family, parents who start their families late may have less energy to raise children and make ends meet at the same time. In conclusion, we should raise awareness of this trend and initiate measures to lessen the detrimental effects on both society and the family.