Some people think that the internet has brought people closer together while others think that people and communities are becoming more isolated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

It is argued by some that since the introduction of the internet, people has become closer to one another, whilst others think that it has turned us and our communities to be more isolated. This essay believes that although the internet allows for more simple ways of communication, it has reduced the number of real interactions between individuals. The internet offers several new ways of long-distance communication, which once was impossible. This is simply because nowadays there is a large variety of social media platforms that enables people from different parts of the world to communicate with each other on a daily basis, without spending money or performing any special effort. For example, since my mother who lives in Europe started using an application called Skype, her relationships with my son, who currently lives in Israel, have improved significantly. On the other hand, the internet has led to a reduction of face to face interactions, thus causing certain individuals and socities to become more isolated. The fact that the internet had enabled people with continues entertaiment, without the need of even leaving their sofa, has reduced the number of real social interactions. For instance, the number of community activities and social gathering in my town had dropped considerably since the introduction of the internet. In conclusion, I strongly believe that in spite the fact that the internet allows for simplier long-distance relationships, its reduction of real face to face interaction had led us to be more isolated as a society as well as individuals.